Books That Left me Disturbed.

I talk a lot about books ability to shape the mind, and the special place that books hold today’s media because of their ability to engulf the reader like no other medium is able to. Maybe is just me but I get far more engrossed in a book than I ever do a movie, but this is a double edged sword because while I’ve never been scared by movie I’ve read more than one book that is left me mentally scarred, utterly disturbed, and kept me up at night. These are some of the most disturbing books I’ve ever read.

House of leaves. This is by far one of the most creative and simultaneously disturbing books I have ever read. It is enjoyable and one of the most different and novel books I’ve ever read, but when the horrifying events start to happen, they jump right out of the page and into my brain.

1984 by George Orwell. Were it not for the name of the novel, you might think this book was written today about the current British government and the society in which individual privacy is valued at far less than it ever was previously. This book changed the way I looked at my government, and drastically shifted the way I looked at the world around me. Whether or not to change with the better remains to be seen.

The catcher in the Rye. As sad as it is to me to admit this, this book will literally changed me more than any other book ever simply because I was told by a few people that I reminded them of the main character. After I sat down and read the book I realised Petty and whiny I was coming off to everyone else. After I finished reading the catcher in the Rye I was forced to take a good long hard look at myself and literally change who I was. This one was intimately disturbing to me.

Leave a Reply

